Rush University > Alumni > RMC > Awards > Distinguished Alumni Award


Distinguished Alumni Award

2013 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient 


The Rush Medical College Alumni Association is pleased to announce the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient: W. Ian Lipkin, MD '78. 

Throughout his career, Dr. Lipkin has made his mark on the medical community around the world. He is the director of the Center for Infection and Immunity and the John Snow Professor of Epidemiology at the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University. 

Dr. Lipkin's many contributions include:

  • The first use of purely molecular methods to identify an infectious agent
  • Implication of West Nile virus as the cause of the encephalitis epidemic in North America in 1999
  • Invention of MassTag PCR and the first panmicrobial microarray; first use of deep sequencing in pathogen discovery
  • The discovery and molecular characterization of more than 500 viruses

Qualifications and Nominations

The Distinguished Alumni Award of Rush Medical College was established in 1968 to honor alumni who have given distinguished service to the profession of medicine. The award is presented biennially by the Alumni Association to a graduate who has brought distinction to the college through broadly recognized professional accomplishments. It is the highest honor that the Alumni Association can bestow.

To be eligible for nomination, a candidate:
1) must be a graduate of Rush Medical College or former house staff of Rush University Medical Center;
2) must be living (no posthumous nominations);
3) cannot have received the award previously;
4) must be nominated by a graduate of Rush Medical College or former house staff of Rush University Medical Center;
5) may not self-nominate.

Nominations for 2013 Awards are now closed. The next call for nominations will be in 2015.